Skip to main content
  Cornell University

Public Engagement Council

In fall 2013, the Cornell University provost established the Public Engagement Council (PEC) with the broad mandate to support Cornell’s work toward our strategic goal of “excellence in public engagement.” The PEC is co-chaired by Vice Provost Judy Appleton and the Provost’s Fellow for Public Engagement.

The PEC is comprised of one faculty member from each college on the Ithaca campus, appointed in collaboration with the college dean. Some of the members are associate deans, while others are faculty or staff with interest and experience in publicly engaged teaching and scholarship.

In addition, the council includes several members representing programs or centers: the Mario Einaudi Center for International Studies, Cornell Cooperative Extension, the Public Service Center, and Entrepreneurship@Cornell.

The PEC provides advice and expertise to Engaged Cornell leadership on activities being designed and rolled out. For example, the council reviewed and discussed all the procedures with regard to the Engaged Curriculum Grants, and served as peer reviewers of the grant proposals as appropriate.


Judy Appleton (Co-Chair) Vice Provost
M. Diane Burton and Gerard Aching (Co-Chairs) Provost’s Fellow for Public Engagement
Edward Baptist Associate Professor of History, College of Arts and Sciences
Susanne Bruyere Associate Dean of Outreach, ILR School
Nishi Dhupa Executive Director, Mario Einaudi Center for International Studies
Rachel Dunifon Associate Dean for Research and Outreach, College of Human Ecology
Julia Felippe Associate Professor and Director of Veterinary Curriculum, College of Veterinary Medicine
John Forester Professor of City and Regional Planning, College of Architecture, Art, and Planning
Sheri Johnson James and Mark Flanagan Professor of Law, Cornell Law School
Yael Levitte Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Development and Diversity
Mark Milstein Clinical Professor of Management and Organizations and Director of Sustainable Global Enterprise, Johnson
Basil Safi Executive Director, Office of Engagement Initiatives
Chris Schaffer Associate Professor, Meinig School of Biomedical Engineering
Deb Streeter Bruce F. Failing, Sr., Professor of Personal Enterprise, Dyson School of Applied Economics and Management
Leonardo Vargas-Mendez Executive Director, Public Service Center
Rohit Verma Professor of Service Operations Management, School of Hotel Administration
Don Viands Associate Dean and Director of Forage Breeding Project, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Chris Watkins Director, Cornell Cooperative Extension